Areas of Practice - Traffic Tickets

Table of Contents
Information
Skip to Traffic Ticket Info


Traffic Tickets - Information
Table of Contents

Traffic Violations
Traffic violation laws have been introduced as a preventive measure, to keep the roads safe for the general public, while keeping dangerous driving under control and reforming bad drivers. Traffic violations can turn into serious charges if they result in harm to any property or persons. If injuries are sustained from any traffic violations, charges result in misdemeanors or felonies. Traffic misdemeanors are violations of a less serious nature, where as traffic felonies often involve endangerment of life and property. Examples of traffic violations are:

Traffic Misdemeanors

     • Driving with an expired license
     • DUI
     • Not stopping at an accident
     • Driving without insurance

Traffic Felonies

     • vehicular homicide
     • DWI
     • Fleeing an officer


Traffic violations that occur without accident or injury are referred to as ‘infractions.’ Infractions can be in the form of a summons to court or else an alternative such as traffic school, along with a fine. If asked to appear in court, a driver must appear at the appointed date or else a warrant may be issued for their arrest.

Most states in the U.S. have a point system for traffic violations and convictions. Depending on whether the violation is an infraction, misdemeanor or felony, points are given and stay on the driver’s record for a few years. In addition to the point system, the state of Texas has a system called ‘The Driver Responsibility Program,’ in which a surcharge is assessed on certain traffic violations.

TOP OF PAGE



Texas Driving While License Suspended

In the state of Texas, driving with a suspended license (DWLS) or invalid license (DWLI) is against the law. Like a DWI, it is considered a class B misdemeanor. A fine of $100-$500 applies in addition to a possible jail time of 72 hours to 6 months. If a prior DWLS/DWLI conviction exists, then it becomes a class A misdemeanor, meaning the driver could face up to one year in jail in addition to fines up till $4000. Surcharges will also apply.

TOP OF PAGE

 


   Home | Attorneys & Mediators | Contact Us | Offices | Testimonials | Areas of Practice | Resources | Documents